Provincial Nominee Program

Provincial Nominee Program

In a shared authority shared between Ottawa along with the provincial provinces Canada has a dual-tiered system of immigration that provides programs for skilled workers both at the provincial and federal levels.

Through a network of nominee Programs (PNP) which covers almost all of Canada’s 10 provinces and three territories are able to nominate skilled workers to be considered to be admitted to Canada who possess the capabilities needed for their economies. The successful candidates who get nominated by a territorial or provincial province are eligible to submit an application for Canadian permanent residency through the federal immigration authorities. This is an integral part of every regional program.

A number of provinces also manage their categories as part of the Canada Express Entry System. This means that the provinces play an increasingly important influence in the selection of immigrants from the economy.

This program lets Canadian provinces and territories to nominate individuals who wish to immigrate to Canada and those who are interested in settling in a particular province.

Every Canadian Province and territory (except Nunavut and Quebec) has its own unique Provincial Nominee Program. Each PNP has at least one immigration stream that is aligned with the federal Express Entry immigration selection system.

Provincial nominations issued under these Express Entry-aligned streams are known as ‘enhanced nomination’ and award Express Entry candidates an additional 600 CRS points.

Provincial Nominee Programs are

  1. Alberta
  2. British Columbia
  3. Manitoba
  4. New Brunswick
  5. Newfoundland and Labrador
  6. Nova Scotia
  7. Ontario
  8. Prince Edward Island
  9. Quebec
  10. Saskatchewan
  11. Yukon
Provinces and territories of Canada